History

Golden Valley Country Club was born in in 1914 with the purchase of a 133-acre site, bisected by Bassett Creek. Initially, this land consisted of pasture land and corn fields. A 9-hole golf course was fashioned out of the land north of the railroad tracks and play commenced shortly after.

The Club entered the roaring 20ís with exuberance and the golf course was expanded to 18 holes. Membership was strong and a new clubhouse was constructed.

A.W. Tillinghast, a world-renowned golf course designer, was retained in 1926. He commenced a three-year renovation of the course.

Over the years a number of changes were made to accommodate the needs and desires of the membership. These modifications changed the character of the course. In 1998, the club embarked on a restoration project to return the course to the original A.W. Tillinghast design. The project was as much an archeological adventure as a construction project, as old bunkers were discovered and photographs of the original green complexed were utilized. Recent reconstruction of the tee boxes now allows the courses to be played to enjoy the true Tillinghast experience regardless of the level of golfer playing the course. It truly is a championship course.

In 2002, a beautiful, new clubhouse overlooking the 18th hole was constructed. Today, Golden Valley Country Club is the preeminent country club in the Twin Cities, well known as for its world-class golf course, fine and casual dining, pool and tennis facilities, and its elegantly decorated clubhouse for weddings, social gatherings and corporate meetings.